Nominations Sought for 2012 Lyons Award

By Keith Hautala

The Martin School of Public Policy and Administration is now requesting nominations for the  2012 William E. Lyons Award for Outstanding Service to the University of Kentucky, the community and the Commonwealth. 

This award is given each year to an individual associated with the university who has given outstanding service to UK, the community or the state. It is named in honor of William E. Lyons (1935-1994), professor of political science and public administration, director of the Martin School, chair of the Department of Political Science, chair of the Lexington-Fayette County Merger Commission, member of the Urban County Council, and chair or member of numerous other university and government committees.

Those wishing to nominate a person for the award, which consists of an honorarium of $500 and a plaque, should submit a letter of nomination identifying the specific contributions the nominee has made. Nominations must include the name, address, telephone number and email address of the nominator. Nominations should include the nominee's curriculum vitae or resume, if available. 

The deadline for nominations is April 2. All nominations should be submitted by email to or by postal mail to:

William E. Lyons Award Committee
423 Patterson Office Tower
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-00027

Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected