Skip to main content

Chellgren Center Names 37 New Fellows: 20 in A&S

by Jenny Wells

Last week, the University of Kentucky Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence honored its newest class of Chellgren Fellows.  Chellgren Endowed Chair Philipp Kraemer introduces the seventh class of Chellgren Student Fellows.Benefactor Paul Chellgren and his wife Deborah, along with Chellgren Endowed Chair Philipp Kraemer, UK Provost Christine Riordan, and UK President Eli Capilouto, recognized and congratulated the students on being named Fellows.

The Chellgren Fellows Program is for students with exceptional academic potential and aspirations, who are eager to participate in a special learning community designed to cultivate extraordinary achievement. Outstanding faculty members from across campus serve as individual mentors for the Fellows.

The students selected as 2013-14 Chellgren Fellows include:

  • Cassidy Cantrell, a community leadership development and sociology major, from Springfield, Tenn.;
  • Robert Cass, a mathematics and physics major, from Lexington;
  • Andrew Cech, an electrical and computer engineering major, from Greenville, Ohio;
  • Steven Chapman, a chemistry and mathematics major, from Hopkinsville;
  • Erika Darnell, a biochemistry major, from Lexington;
  • Andrea Eastes, an agricultural biotechnology major, from Mayfield;
  • Jonathan Elliott, undeclared, from Kentwood, Mich.;
  • Donald Grasse, an international studies and political science major, from Flossmoor, Ill.;
  • Richard Grewelle, a biology and biochemistry major, from Paducah;
  • Cailin Harris, a biology major, from Hendersonville, Tenn.;
  • Nathan Hewitt, a music performance (percussion) and arts administration major, from Fishers, Ind.;
  • Jordan Jorgensen, a computer science and mathematics major, from Louisville;
  • Jordan Keeton, an economics and finance major, from Flatwoods;
  • Madeleine Lockridge, a communications major, from Nicholasville;
  • Mariam Malik, a political science major, from Louisville;
  • Malinda Massey, an English major, from Columbia, Tenn.;
  • Jacob Mattingly, a chemistry and philosophy major, from Louisville;
  • Trevor McNary, an economics and international relations major, from Lexington;
  • Sarah Meyer, a geography and mathematics major, from Frankfort;
  • Brianna Mills, undeclared, from Ivor, Va.;
  • Alexis Neukirch, a natural resources and environmental science major, from Chesterfield, Mo.;
  • Toluwalope Odukoya, a biology major, from Ashland;
  • Stephen Parsons, a computer science and physics major, from Lexington;
  • Michael Perry, a political science and history major, from Louisville;
  • Samantha Petitte, a psychology and community leadership development major, from West Bend, Wis.;
  • Kelsey Potter, an English and integrated strategic communication major, from Worthington;
  • Marcel Roman, a political science and international studies major, from Chicago;
  • Katelyn Sandell, a biochemistry major, from Louisville;
  • Madison Scott, an equine management and marketing major, from Austin, Texas;
  • Brenton Smith, a political science major, from Corbin;
  • Danna Spears, an accounting major, from Tomahawk;
  • Daniella Straathof, an agricultural economics major, from Washington Court House, Ohio;
  • Jacob Van Doorn, a biology major, from Uniondale, Ind.;
  • Rebecca VanMeter, a psychology and music (piano) major, from Greensburg;
  • Sarah Wagner, an architecture and English major, from Louisville;
  • John Walker, a mathematics and computer science major, from Union; and
  • Evan Willett, a civil engineering major, from Louisville. 

The Chellgren Fellows Program was made possible by the Chellgren Center, which was created in 2005 with an initial gift from Paul Chellgren and his family. His total commitment of $2.25 million was matched by the state’s Endowment Match Program, creating a $4.5 million endowment for the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence.

Paul Chellgren talks to new Fellows.As a UK undergraduate, Chellgren was an Honors Program student and star intercollegiate debater. After earning his MBA from Harvard and a D.D.E. from Oxford University, he began a successful career that culminated with his retirement as chairman and CEO of Ashland Inc. He was inducted into UK’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni in 2000 and the Gatton College of Business and Economics Hall of Fame in 1995, and served on the UK Board of Trustees for 11 years. His commitment to improving and enriching undergraduate education at UK continues to impact thousands of UK students, faculty and staff.

The Chellgren Student Fellows program is a program supported by The Chellgren Center which is part of the Academy of Undergraduate Excellence within the Division of Undergraduate Educationat UK.