Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff Resources

Directors of Undergraduate Studies

Each department and program has a director of undergraduate studies (DUS) whose primary responsibility is to focus on the academic and intellectual development of declared majors and the undergraduate curriculum.

The 2023 - 2024 DUS meetings are scheduled at 12:30pm on the following Tuesdays:

2023: August 15th, September 19th, October 17th, November 14th, December 5th

2024: January 23rd, February 20th, March 26th, April 16th and May 7th

It is requested that a faculty department representative attend when the DUS is unable to meet.

For more information view the DUS Dashboard.

Department or Program*



African American and Africana Studies Priscilla McCutcheon 
Anthropology Erin Koch 
Appalachian Studies Ann Kingsolver
Biology Kay Shenoy
Chemistry Beth Guiton 
Earth & Environmental Sciences

Ryan Thigpen
Economics Darshak Patel
English Matt Godbey
Environmental & Sustainability Studies Andy Wood
Foreign Language & International Economics Jianjun He
Gender & Women's Studies Melissa Stein
Geography Andy Wood
Health Society Pop. Melissa Stein

Hispanic Studies Heather Campbell-Speltz

History Melanie Goan

International Studies Francis Musoni
Liberal Studies Josh Abboud
Linguistics Andrew Byrd
Mathematical Economics Adib Bagh
Mathematics Alberto Corso
MCLLC/Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, and Russian Julie Human
Neuroscience Lynda Sharrett-Field
Philosophy Eric Sanday
Physics & Astronomy Ron Wilhelm
Political Science Jesse Johnson
Psychology Andrea Friedrich
Sociology Jordan Brown
Statistics Melissa Pittard
Writing, Rhetoric, and Digital Studies Kishonna Gray
US Culture and Business Practices TBD  


If you have any questions regarding DUS meetings or appointments, please contact Colleen Knight at